Impacts of Cancelling a Blubrry Media Hosting Subscription

If, for whatever reason, you feel you’ll need to cancel an active Blubrry Media Hosting subscription, it’s important to understand how that could impact your show.

Blubrry logo with red CANCEL text across the front

What Happens if I Cancel my Blubrry Media Hosting Subscription?

Usually, within 30 days, the following things happen when a Blubrry Media Hosting subscription is cancelled:

  • All media files uploaded as part of a cancelled Blubrry Media Hosting subscription will be removed from Blubrry’s servers and those files will become inaccessible. This will cause the show’s podcast RSS feed to break and the show will eventually be removed from syndication platforms like Apple Podcasts, Spotify, etc.
  • Any Blubrry WordPress site that was created as part of a cancelled Blubrry Media Hosting subscription will also be removed and become inaccessible.

Blubrry Media Hosting Cancellation FAQ:

Q:  If I cancel my Blubrry Media Hosting subscription, doesn’t that just mean I can no longer upload new files? Why do files I’ve already uploaded go offline?
A:  Blubrry Media Hosting subscriptions consist of two equal parts: file storage and distribution (bandwidth). Even if you no longer want to upload new files, Blubrry still needs to distribute your existing files to audience members who request them. Keeping a Blubrry Media Hosting subscription active will ensure continued delivery of your existing episodes.

Q:  Why will cancelling my Blubrry Media Hosting subscription impact podcasting platforms like Apple Podcasts or Spotify? Aren’t my files uploaded to those platforms, and then they store copies on their sides?
A:  Most podcast-listening platforms like Apple Podcasts don’t store and re-serve copies of your media files. These platforms pass requests for your files directly through to Blubrry, and Blubrry then distributes the files as requested by your show’s audience.

Q:  Will existing data, such as podcast stats, be lost if I cancel my Blubrry Media Hosting subscription?
A:  No. When a Blubrry Media Hosting subscription is cancelled, the show’s stats are not deleted. The stats are still accessible thru your Blubrry dashboard, and the stats service will never to Blubrry Free Stats.

Q:  My show is ending or will be on hiatus. Is there any way to change how much I pay for my Blubrry Media Hosting subscription in order to keep my media files online?
A:  Contact support.